Open Science

What is Open Science?

Open Science means research that is conducted with a strongly cooperative approach: this includes the generation, evaluation and interpretation of data and results (i.e. the “production process”) as well as the reuse and sharing of methods and research data or the free accessibility of publications and findings (the dissemination and (further) use). This cooperative creation and use of research results is not limited to scientists from various disciplines, but also includes companies, public authorities, stakeholders and citizens. If knowledge and data are shared with all relevant actors as early as reasonable and possible in the research process, this will not only contribute to the dissemination and application of the latest findings, but will also accelerate the research and innovation process, increase creativity and trust in science, and help to increase Europe’s competitiveness.

Open Science and Universities

Austrian universities are central players not only in basic research; translation and application-oriented research are also central tasks of universities. In doing so, they do not act in isolation, but are closely networked with national and international cooperation partners. These include not only other universities, but also non-university research institutions, companies ranging from industry and SMEs to start-ups, funding agencies and donors, application partners, decision-makers and, of course, society and the public. Since a large part of the knowledge, research data and findings are created at and with universities, and since universities train the researchers of tomorrow, a transformation towards Open Science can only succeed if universities – in the context of their partners – play an active role.

It is important to note that Open Science is not an end in itself, but can enable universities to fulfill their tasks – high-quality research and teaching as well as impact on society – even more efficiently and effectively for the common good. Universities have a variety of tasks and challenges and operate in a complex, competitive environment. Open Science is a new, important aspect that needs to be reconciled with the other requirements and that presents new challenges and opportunities.

News
News
Open Science in the media
Library
Library
Relevant national and international publications on the topic of Open Science
Community Blog
Community Blog

Open Science

Was ist Open Science?

Open Science bedeutet, dass Forschung mit einem stark kooperativen Ansatz betrieben wird: dies umfasst das Generieren, Auswerten und Interpretieren von Daten und Ergebnissen (also den „Produktionsprozess“) ebenso wie die Wiederverwendung und Weitergabe von Methoden und Forschungsdaten oder die freie Zugänglichkeit von Publikationen und Erkenntnissen (die Verbreitung und (Weiter-)Nutzung). Diese kooperative Entstehung und Verwendung von Forschungsergebnissen beschränkt sich hierbei nicht nur auf Wissenschafter:innen diverser Disziplinen untereinander, sondern umfasst auch Unternehmen, Behörden, Betroffene und Bürger:innen. Werden Wissen und Daten so früh wie sinnvoll und möglich im Forschungsprozess mit allen relevanten Akteuren geteilt, trägt dies nicht zur Verbreitung und Anwendung der neuesten Erkenntnisse bei, sondern beschleunigt den Forschungs- und Innovationsprozess, steigt Kreativität und Vertrauen in die Wissenschaft und hilft mit, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Europas zu erhöhen.

Open Science an den Universitäten

Die Österreichischen Universitäten sind zentrale Akteure nicht nur in der Grundlagenforschung, auch die Translation und anwendungsorientierte Forschung stellen zentrale Aufgaben der Universitäten dar. Dabei agieren diese nicht isoliert, sondern sind eng mit nationalen und internationalen Kooperationspartnern vernetzt. Diese umfassen nicht nur andere Hochschulen, sondern auch außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen, Unternehmen von Industrie, KMU bis zu Start-ups, Förderagenturen und Geldgeber, Anwendungspartner, Entscheidungsträger und natürlich die Gesellschaft und Öffentlichkeit. Da ein Gutteil des Wissens, der Forschungsdaten und Erkenntnissen an und mit Universitäten entsteht und Universitäten die Forscher:innen von morgen ausbilden, kann eine Transformation in Richtung Open Science nur gelingen, wenn Universitäten – im Kontext mit ihren Partnern – dabei eine aktive Rolle einnehmen.

Wichtig hierbei ist, dass Open Science kein Selbstzweck ist, sondern es den Universitäten ermöglichen kann, ihren Aufgaben – hochqualitativer Forschung und Lehre sowie Wirkung für die Gesellschaft – noch effizienter und wirkungsvoller für das Gemeinwohl nachzukommen. Universitäten haben eine Vielzahl an Aufgaben und Herausforderungen und bewegen sich in einem komplexen, kompetitiven Umfeld. Open Science ist ein neuer, wichtiger Aspekt den es mit den anderen Anforderungen in Einklang zu bringen gilt und der neue Herausforderungen und Chancen birgt.

News
News
Open Science in den Medien
Publikationen
Publikationen
Hier finden Sie relevante nationale und internationale Publikationen zum Themenkomplex Open Science
Community Blog
Community Blog